Back to blog

Daylight Saving Time Ends

Daylight Saving Time Ends

If you've previously wound your clocks forward, get ready to wind them back again!

Daylight Saving Time ends this Sunday 3rd April 2022 at 2AM (3AM Daylight Saving Time) and will come into effect on the first Sunday of October at 2AM. The Australian States which observe Daylight Saving Time are New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and Australian Capital Territory. All other states in Australia don't observe Daylight Saving Time.

The DST start and end dates for 2022 are listed below:

  • Sunday 3rd April 2022 - Daylight Saving ends at 3:00 AM DST (move your clocks back by one hour)
  • Sunday 2nd October 2022 - Daylight Saving starts at 2:00 AM (move your clocks forward by one hour)

The time should change automatically on most devices such as Smart Phones, Computers, Tablet Devices, etc. However, there have been cases in the past where some devices haven't had their time updated automatically. For those who don't trust technology, an old fashioned clock with an alarm can always be set the night before DST kicks in just to make sure that you don't get awoken early or late. As for your POS terminals, you can check them before DST ends to ensure that they'll change when required.

On the POS Terminal, press the time in the bottom-right corner of the screen > Date and Time Settings.

Set Time Automatically: On
Time Zone: Change to your location.

By setting the above, you'll ensure that the time will change automatically, if required.
If your business trades during the changeover period back to non Daylight Saving Time, you might prefer to set the time manually so that your reports will display correctly.

If you use the Time Sync Master (IPS Client > File > Settings), you will only need to change the time on a single terminal.

Regardless of your settings, make sure the first thing you do on Sunday 3rd April 2022 is to check your terminals and ensure that they're displaying the correct date and time.

You can find out more about Daylight Saving Time in Australia here.